Permaculture - quantified?

Discussion in 'Environmental and Health Professionals Interested' started by Emma-Lou, Jun 13, 2012.

1. Emma-Lou

Emma-Lou New Member

Hi there,

Just wondering if anyone can help me at all please?

I'm studying towards my Environemntal Sciences BSc in the UK, and for my final year research project I'm looking into whether certain permaculture techniques actually increase carbon sequestration over standard agricultural techniques; in particular the depth at which carbon is able to be sequestered.

Although I firmly believe that this happens, I have to find published papers that quantify and discuss it in order to meet scientific and university standards, so does anyone know of any actual research papers that have been publicised about this kind of thing at all? Or any quantifiable permaculture studdies at all.

Here's hoping!
    Love and light
    Emma

2. ecodharmamark

ecodharmamark Junior Member

G'day Emma

Welcome to the PRI Forum.

In my experience, you are going to find it very hard to find (peer-reviewed) literature quantifying '...whether certain permaculture techniques actually increase carbon sequestration over standard agricultural techniques; in particular the depth at which carbon is able to be sequestered'.

I imagine you have probably already tried many different types of search formats (choice of search terms) in databases available to you. I just tried 'permaculture carbon sequestration' in a couple of our larger meta-databases and the result was zero.

I therefore suggest (and you may have already tried this) that you 'play around' with the search terms until you hit upon something that starts to provide positive responses. Terms such as 'alternative agriculture' in place of 'permaculture' might expand the response list.