My hillside terrace system and concerns over strawbales

Discussion in 'Members' Systems' started by Brian Knight, Apr 4, 2015.

1. Brian Knight

Brian Knight Junior Member

Here is how Ive been retaining my hillside garden for 7-8 years. I have to replace the strawbales every 2nd year. The straw decomposes into nice soil but I have concerns over the long term effects of so much straw. I know its mostly silica but does anyone think that whatever they are spraying the grain crops with (grasses) could have negative effects on my vegetables (broadleaf)?

[​IMG][/URL][/IMG]

[​IMG][/URL][/IMG]

2. songbird

songbird Senior Member

gardening, reading, etc
    Home Page:
    Climate:
    -15C-35C, 10cm rain/mo, clay, full sun, K-G Dfa=x=Dfb
    if that is your concern you can try to find some source of strawbales that is known to be clean.

another approach would be to find some other way to make the area more stable so you don't need the strawbales. either growing something that holds the area or building some sort of retaining wall...

i cannot tell from your picture what your intent or use of the area is like, i.e. why you would want to dig out a trench and replace the strawbales every other year, instead of planting something more permanent to hold... can you explain the area more?

3. Brian Knight

Good suggestions. Its sure tough to beat the farm supply store 2 blocks from my house! I wonder if there would be any commercially available sources. Iam in the city and dont know any farmers. Maybe I can start asking around though.

As for something more permanent, the main issue is the old, clay sewer pipe that runs through the area. It gets clogged with roots pretty often and its only a matter of time before it needs replacement. My fruit trees and blueberries are already encroaching. I think I might have pierced it with one of my tomato cage stakes too.. woops.