Why should I do a permaculture design course?

Discussion in 'General chat' started by cottager, May 17, 2012.

1. cottager

cottager Junior Member

Part of how I think about things is doing a cost/benefit analysis of any major choice I make.

So, please, give me reasons why this would be good for me (I WANT it, but wanting something won't cut the mustard in my world ... I need solid why's ... please?).

Background on me ... been a gardener for a very long time (grew up on science and gardening ... funny mix).

I have been teaching food production for nearly two decades now, with the last few years in a dedicated kitchen garden program.

Just need an excuse really ... please give it to me :D

2. Pakanohida

Pakanohida Junior Member

I grow food with out pesticides, herbicides, or chemical fertilizers, ((IE - Fukuoka / Hazelip)) My bills have dropped tremedously & my health has gone up. If that is not a good enough reason I do not know what is.

However, I have 1 more reason. When you have your own healthy food growing without chemical or any other inputs then the stuff on your property, and you are generating your own electricity, what is left to buy? Who do you really need to rely on besides yourself? When you get to a point when you make your own food and power, that's when you become truly free, and that to me is the best reason of them all.

Freedom.

3. labradel

labradel Junior Member

yes pak all that can be done without chemicals without a pdc. so why is a pdc required

4. eco4560

eco4560 New Member

For some people having the certificate gives them business opportunities to market themselves. Like setting up a design business, or adding it on to their landscaping business.