aloha from pahoa!

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself Here' started by spencer, Jul 9, 2018.

1. spencer

spencer New Member

Native Forest Habitat Restoration Crew Member
    Home Page:
    Climate:
    Wet Tropical
    hello! my name is spencer, ive been interested in permaculture since i first discovered it back in 2011 when i started studying at the university of california, santa cruz. i studied environmental studies with a focus on sustainable agriculture and agroecology. I spent two years traveling and wwoofing in europe before i finally found myself here on the big island. ive been growing food here for 3 years now.
    ive run into a small hiccup, we could say, by living in leilani estates next to the current eruption of Kilauea. i no longer can work my garden due to volcanic emissions but i am still growing food and still planting trees on the island! currently trying to figure out whats next. but i do have access to check up on my plantings and i am able to grab cuttings and propagation materials to start over in a new location, if needed. ive been blogging about tropical vegetables for two years now and i wanted to share my newest blog post on here relating directly to my situation and the volcano. the blog entry is titled Rapid Resilient Food Systems! please check it out!
    tropicalselfsufficiency.wordpress.com

songbird likes this.
  2. 9anda1f

9anda1f Administrator Staff Member

Climate:
    Semi-Arid Shrub Steppe (BsK)
    Aloha Spencer and welcome!
    What a great blog/website you've built! Your detailed explanations and excellent photography are invaluable to those seeking tropical information.
    Sorry to hear you've been temporarily removed from your property, but is sounds like you've picked-up elsewhere in the interim.
    Looking forward to hearing more!

3. songbird

songbird Senior Member

gardening, reading, etc
    Home Page:
    Climate:
    -15C-35C, 10cm rain/mo, clay, full sun, K-G Dfa=x=Dfb