Hugelkultur in WA? Mallee trees?

Discussion in 'Planting, growing, nurturing Plants' started by blackjok3r, Oct 8, 2015.

1. blackjok3r

blackjok3r New Member

Hi everyone. I have just joined this forum. I have just bought my first family home in the wheatbelt of WA. I have a fairly large yard which can easily grow enough food to sustain us and probably most of my friends.

I am in the planning process. I inherited my grandpa's chain saw which is quite large although it needs some work I am a mechanic and it will be perfect for my needs. I can get heaps of wood for hugelkultur.

I am mostly wondering if anyone has had any experience using mallee trees for hugelkultur? The wood is extremely dense and hard and takes an eternity to burn. I was thinking of using large logs of mallee in a trench and then piling on softer woods like eucalyptus type trees or wattles to build the bed on top to make a bed that would last for a long long time.

Has any one got any ideas? Also the topsoil in my yard is non-existent, it is mostly sand and could possibly have been hit with a lot of Roundup over the years. Would it be a good idea to use the pre existing vegetable garden to manufacture bulk good soil first before building my beds? I was thinking of composting the shit out of it all over this spring/summer and then grow a few vegetables next year.

We get over 300mm of rain here each year but there can be very long dry spells hence my decision to use huglekulture. I was thinking of building my beds where they will get all the run off water from the property flowing though them before it leaves the property. This area is also facing north with a large tree over it in the maximum afternoon sun.

Sorry if I am rambling a bit. Its been a long day. Any input people have is welcome. Like I said I am just starting out but I have huge plans. Money is tight for us so I don't want to put in a huge effort to fail and have to start again.

2. Flatland

Flatland Member